Jazlin Skk
map-marker New Orleans, Louisiana

I hate to rate it the way I feel now

I am still waiting for you guys to send me a replacement headboard, support boards for headboard, and the support rails that hold the mattress. I have a claim report and have sent in pictures upon delivery of bed.
View full review
Rachele W Rff

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

"All Things Home For Less" is their slogan. Should be "All Things Home at a HUGE Markup".

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I purchased a Nestl deep pocket sheet set from Overstock in 2021 and loved them. They fit super well, were soft, never moved or slipped off, and had this feature I LOVED where the straps that help hold the fitted sheet on are 2 different colors (black for one end of the bed and white for the other) so you can easily get the sheet on correctly on the first try.

The only thing that I didn't love was the color, which was more orange than red, so I finally decided to order a new set from the same link to ensure I got the same exact sheets, only in a different color.

The sheets were $52.99, but I got a coupon that brought them down to $39.74 before tax. It was a bit odd when I received the sheets because my favorite feature (the black and white straps) were no more. I compared the new set to the old set and also found that while the old set had the Nestl logo on all the tags, the new set had no logo or brand name whatsoever. I searched for a contact number or email to contact Overstock, but all they list is a number to text, which I did.

An hour and a half passed from the time that the text said I would be sent to a live representative and when someone presumably responded and I had fallen asleep during that time, so the request timed out. It did, however, finally give me an email address as well as a phone number. I tried the email first, on 4/24, so I could include the photos that showed the differences. I also emailed Nestl to ask if they had removed these features from their sheets.

Nestl responded first, on 5/3, and indicated there had been no product changes from 2021 through today and to reach out to the seller directly.

As of today, 5/5, I still had not gotten a response from Overstock, so I sent a follow-up email before remembering that a number had also been provided, so I reached out that way. The rep indicated that he could tell it was the same product because they had gotten it from the same 3rd party manufacturer, Sanders Collection. First I told him that it made no sense to me why they would order a Nestl profuct from anyone other than Nestl and then I looked up Sanders Collection while on the call. They are a bedding company in NY and they have 5 brands listed on their website that they sell, none of which are Nestl.

He gave me a contact number with an 847 area code, which matched where Sanders Collection is located in NY. For comparison, however, I also looked up Nestl while on the call and it gets a bit more interesting. The contact number he gave me for Sanders Collection matches Nestl almost exactly, with the only difference being the 1st two digits in the center section of the number are transposed, while only the area code matches Sanders Collection. Now, out of further curiosity, I tried to go through the process of ordering the exact same sheets I had just purchased from Overstock and got quite a surprise: the sheet set, when bought directly from Nestl, is only $29.50 with no discount applied.

The Overstock rep started to squirm a bit and first indicated that they probably charge shipping that would make it about the same.

No, they do not charge anything for shipping. Then he indicated that the 3rd party manufacturer most likely marks up the product price a bit for profit (which is why it makes no sense that they would involve a 3rd party). When I pointed out that they are supposed to be a discount site that sells items for LESS and I purchased an item at a 44% markup instead, he offered me a refund. Since it's taken me so long to get a hold of anyone there, I've now had the sheets 2.5 weeks and they're on my bed.

I don't even have the package anymore. So then he offered me a coupon on a future order. I told him not to bother because now that I know how much they actually markup the items they are selling at a supposed "discount", I will never shop there again.

I highly recommend trying to price check any item you may be looking at on Overstock directly on the manufacturer's website, as the price will probably be significantly less.

Also, I'm fairly certain, based on the tags on these new sheets, combined with the information Nestl provided, and now finally comparing the detail on the pillowcases in the set sold on Nestl compared to the set I got from Overstock, that I also got a fake item at a 44% markup, so I imagine most of their other items are not the real deal as well.

I've ordered the sheets again, this time from Nestl (where I wasn't even charged tax, so $29.50 is all I paid). I bet I find their logo on these sheets.

View full review
Loss:
$43
Cons:
  • Even after discount
  • False advertising
  • Upcharge

Preferred solution: They offered me a refund, but it took 2.5 weeks to reach them and by now I've been using the sheets, so I can't return. I was offered a coupon, but now I won't purchase from them again. I want to warn shoppers.

User's recommendation: Check any item you are wanting to buy on Overstock on the manufacturer's site to see if it's the same item and whether you're getting a discount or markup at Overstock.com

Clare M Csy

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer

My power recliner I purchased is not working.

Overstock - My power recliner I purchased is not working.
Read above. Need it fixed or replaced. Received it late June 2021. Should not be broken. Power recliner dead.
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Beware

Shirley H Ktd

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Scams

I was thrilled when Bed Bath and beyond had there clearance sale posted on Facebook. What I thought was the company was people using the sale to extort money from consumers.

I tried tracking them down but most are overseas.

I got as far as a Company called Asiabill which processed one of the payments. Nothing so far. I regret being one of the people that got scammed. I don't expect overstock to do anything or make good on the sales.

I lost 124.00 while not a lot I would rather have my purchases.

Just thought I would give you a heads up it is still hoing on yesterday I found several that were fake using other companies names..

I have been telling everyone not to fall like I did. Being a senior is no excuse but it all looke legit.

Thank you for listening.

When will overstock start selling the mdse.?

Shirley Howard

Winston Salem N.C

View full review
Loss:
$124
Pros:
  • I like the site but still to high for me

Preferred solution: Nothing this was not there fault. Just wanted to let them know scammers are using the bbb ad to steal. From consumers this is happening on Facebook.

Resolved
Scott H Ppm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Newport News, Virginia

Resolved: Didn't get all the order

Updated by user Jul 31, 2023

Company resolved the issue.

Original review Jul 01, 2023
Kitchen island arrived with out stools. Was told they shipped separately. 3 to 4 weeks.Now a month later I am told it's past 30 days and they may have to charge me for the stools.
View full review

User's recommendation: Don't order from overstock

Mike J Whc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Phoenix, Arizona

Got a piece of *** artificial grass rake with no type of instructions with it. Should have been easy as he'll though. Handle does not lock into place. Threw the *** thing in the garbage .

I just *** explained it to you. The artificial grass rake I got is a piece of *** The handle does'nt lock in place
View full review

User's recommendation: Don't buy from overstock.com

Resolved
Angela G CA

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: $1,894.32 Range hood arrived damaged, trying for weeks to get refund.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Sep 13, 2022

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with full refund.

Updated by user Sep 13, 2022

Edit: Still waiting for carrier to pick up range hood.

Updated by user Sep 13, 2022

Edit: Refund pending in my account as of today, 13 September 2022.

Original review Sep 07, 2022
The only reason I am giving 3 stars is that I have ordered $1000s of items from Overstock over the years, and the majority have been great. I have even recommended Overstock to others.
However, if you ever receive a damaged item and need help returning something --- that's where the trouble begins.
I am completely at a loss as to why it is so difficult to process a return.

My very first attempt to return this item was 20 August 2022, the day the damaged range hood arrived. It is now 7 September 2022, and I have yet to have this issue resolved after repeated attempts on my part to do so.
After being an Overstock customer since at least 2011, this will be the last item I purchase from Overstock. And at this point, I am considering contacting the Better Business Bureau, the San Diego County District Attorneys Office Consumer Protection Unit, the California Attorney Generals Office, and proceeding with a formal complaint through my attorney.
I have contacted Overstock over four times now to get this range hood picked up from my house, returned, and money refunded.
As I mentioned when I contacted Overstock customer support the previous three times regarding receiving this damaged range hood:
The box arrived with holes, tears, dents, etc. The range hood is dented on both the left and right sides.

I offered to provide images each time.
We have since purchased the exact same range hood from a local Lowes store, and upon unboxing that range hood, we recognized that I had, in fact, been shipped a previously returned range hood from Overstock. We know this as when we unboxed the range hood from Lowes, we saw all the extra packing material protecting the hood that did not exist in the box shipped from Overstock.
So not only was I shipped a previously returned hood from Overstock, it was not packaged properly and arrived damaged. I have no idea at this point if it was already damaged before being shipped to me, if it was damaged during shipment to me, or both.

But this is entirely unacceptable.
I have provided the photos, as requested, screenshots from my initial attempt at requesting a return, and chat sessions from my previous chats. I also have photos showing how the range hood from Lowes was packaged as compared to how the range hood from Overstock was packaged.
Absolutely, some of the worst customer service I have received from a company.
View full review
Loss:
$1894
Pros:
  • Easy to shop online
  • Large selection of items
Cons:
  • Customer service
  • Return procedure
  • Return policy

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Buyer beware if you need to return an item or need a refund for a damaged item.ov

Dennis K Ges

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Unhappy with return policy

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
would give 0 stars if could. Purchased light fixture which I was happy with, however after purchase, found same same fixture on Memorial Day sale $37.00 less in price.Contacted customer service & was told since I purchased it on sale, they would not honor the new sale price & it was over the alloted 7 day grace period (by 2 days that is). They have lost me & my friends & family as customers.
View full review
Loss:
$37
Cons:
  • Terrible customer servive

Preferred solution: Price reduction

Anonymous
map-marker Marina, California

Worst customer service ever

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I have never experienced such bad customer service and some I deal with it all the time. I ordered several furniture items.During the order process there was no option for me to enter, review, or change a shipping address.

I did not realize this until the order was finalized. I immediately called Overstock and was instructed to cancel the order, change the shipping address in my account, and then re-order the items. Basically, the customer service option of "address change" is a fake. I did all that.

Then I received shipping notifications and the items were still going to the wrong address. Again, I called customer service. I endured a long lecture about how it was my responsibility to check the shipping address, despite the fact that the option was not available during check-out and I had changed it in my account! The person then checked my account and said "Oh, your payment method is PayPal and for payPal we always use the PayPal billing address as the shipping address." My question as to why that would be received no answer.

I was then told, I needed to work out any change of addresses with the shipping carriers myself. And that both FedEX and UPS were utilized. Well, I didn't have that time to spend and I would have had to pay both carriers to change the shipping address. So I asked for a return and refund.

I received two return labels for 3 boxes.

They also did not include pick up so I had to move several large furniture items to a UPS store in a car that would not really fit them, hence the need to have them shipped to the correct address in the first place. Needless to say, I will never order anything from Overstock ever again.

View full review

User's recommendation: Choose Other Options Every Single Time

Anonymous
map-marker Arlington, Washington

Poor service no direct person to talk to sent to another site which they charge you to us

No customer services line to talk to an agent. Sent to a site that charges to to resolve the the issue . This is a poor way to do do business . I will never do business with Overstock again. I give a 0 rating for Overstock. I am missing to end caps to my bed . They werent in the box . Please provide extra end caps as was listed in the instructions to the bed.
View full review
Scott H Ppm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Not satisfied

Claim no responsibility after 30 days when you are told your order will be shipped in 3 to 4 weeks late
View full review
Cons:
  • Ordered item that was out of stock

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Never use overstock

Anonymous
map-marker Rowlett, Texas

Receiving credit on return

I was to get in store credit for a grey and white vanity. #130.90 I believe. I haven't seen it yet. Thank you Like
View full review

User's recommendation: Good

Dana T Nga

Customer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Apr 11, 2023

Overstock uses third party sellers who require return shipping to be paid by the customer and it can be very expensive. They do not readily post this on their site at the point of sale and despite my appeal to them Overstock will not help defray the cost of my return...

Original review Apr 11, 2023
Overstock failed to put their third part return policy in full view on their site. I purchased a chandelier which did not fit my space.

When I called to identify how to return it since no directions are sent. I was told since it came from a third party vendor none of the return of $100 would be paid unless it was broken. The company is ripping off customers by using third party companies who won't pay the return shipping. I have to pay $100 return cost for a $300 chandelier that does not fit in my space.

If it was broken they would pay it ? How does that help me? I wonder how many people are not honest and break the item just to get the shipping back for free. So sorry for me.

Again the return policy does not match Overstock return policy in general and is not readily visible on their web site. I would have never purchased this if I knew it I had to pay the shipping back.

So many of the other sites I use do provide free shipping back to return. I will not be using Overstock again for purchased no matter the price since their customer service people did not wish to help me even a little !!!
View full review
Loss:
$300
Pros:
  • Prices reasonable
Cons:
  • Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Return shipping label paid to return the item

User's recommendation: Do not shop at Overstock

Anonymous
map-marker Tampa, Florida

Scam artist

I placed an order on 5/12/23. All went well.

Today I decided to go into my account and I noticed that my credit card was kept I file. I tried to take it off and it wouldnt allow me so I called customer service. She tells me that it cannot be done that is stays on there for a minimum of 4 yrs so I asked her to close out my account. She first said she couldnt and then she says she will sent me a link to cancel my account.

I follow the prompts to close account thinking Im good. An hour later I get an email telling me that they cant close out my account for a minimum of 4 yrs for tax purposes. I get a second email asking me to take a survey about my experience with customer service so I figure great I will give them a terrible review. After I hit submit it took me to the website and I noticed that there were 2 items in my cart.

I click on the cart and see 2 items totaling 1700.00. Which I never put in my cart. Now I know I am in trouble.

I had to call my credit card company and have them cancel the card and issue a block from anything overstock ever tries to place on my account. This company is so gross.

View full review

User's recommendation: Run….

Leona G Iuy

Received an order with no name

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Charged for something I didnt order. Return fee is rediculous. Never will I purchase anything from Overstock!!!
View full review
Loss:
$23

User's recommendation: Go elsewhere

Bibbie N

Want to know if you sent out my order yet

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
No answer to whether you shipped my purchase yet, I already paid for this purchase could you please just confirm shipment
View full review

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

Brands Related to Overstock

Beyond Inc reviews and complaints

Beyond Inc

0 Reviews

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article